Last week, the USBOXLA-sanctioned Colorado Collegiate Box Lacrosse League completed their inaugural player combine and draft, where Team USBOXLA alum and Furman freshman, Chad Kreuzer, was taken first overall by the Bighorns.

In total, 36 players were selected through the draft’s nine rounds, with athletes from NCAA DI schools like the University of Denver, Loyola University, Canisius College, Rutgers University, Lehigh University, University of Michigan, Cleveland State University, and Furman University taking part in the two-day player combine and draft.

2017 Tewaaraton Award Finalist, Trevor Baptiste, was selected 15th overall by the Fighting Bison, while Rutgers sophomore middie starter, Casey Rose, went second overall to the Stoneflies, and former Team USBOXLA players Skylar “Moose” Whinery (Colorado College) and Troy Loper (UCSB) were taken third and fourth overall, respectively.

Photo: University of Denver

With nine names drafted per club, team management added additional players shortly after last week’s draft, and will continue to do so leading up to the season, which starts on June 14 in Lakewood, Colorado. The CCBLL – the country’s first college-aged box lacrosse league – is powered by a unique collaboration between the Colorado Mammoth, the University of Denver, Warrior Sports, and USBOXLA.

USBOXLA referees also took part in an intensive training camp in Denver last week, ensuring the association’s strict safety guidelines are met for this upcoming CCBLL season.

“We want to get more kids at the collegiate level playing real, true, authentic, safe box lacrosse,” said USBOXLA Co-Founder and University of Denver Associate Head Coach Matt Brown during a recent interview on TSN Radio in Canada. “We feel this is the start of something really special and can’t wait to get it going.”

See the full draft results below, plus click or tap to view current rosters for the Gold Miners, Bighorns, Stoneflies and Fighting Bison.

Note: The draft order was randomly selected for each round. Some players committed to but not yet attending listed collegiate program.


Round Overall Drafted by Player School
1 1 Bighorns Chad Kreuzer Furman University
1 2 Stoneflies Casey Rose Rutgers University
1 3 Fighting Bison Skylar Whinery Colorado College
1 4 Gold Miners Troy Loper University of California Santa Barbara
2 5 Fighting Bison Nate Marano University of Denver
2 6 Stoneflie Zach Runberg University of Denver
2 7 Gold Miners Grant Breeden Colorado State University
2 8 Bighorns Thomas Tenny University of Denver
3 9 Gold Miners Colton Jackson University of Denver
3 10 Bighorns Willy Gunn Lehigh University
3 11 Fighting Bison Jake Taylor Regis Jesuit High School
3 12 Stoneflies Michael Cox University of Denver
4 13 Gold Miners Nick Adams University of Utah
4 14 Stoneflies Tristan Snellgrove Maryville University
4 15 Fighting Bison Trevor Baptiste University of Denver
4 16 Bighorns Isaac Atencio Cleveland State University
5 17 Stoneflies Mikey Pyror University of Denver
5 18 Bighorns Joshua Jenkins Norwich University
5 19 Gold Miners Connor Johnson Lasell College
5 20 Fighting Bison Matthew Thresher Norwich University
6 21 Fighting Bison TK Hammond Highlands Ranch High School
6 22 Stoneflies Rylan Lemons University of Utah
6 23 Gold Miners David Corral Wheeling Jesuit University
6 24 Bighorns Caleb Rueth
7 25 Bighorns Chandler Nayman
7 26 Gold Miners Josh Gallant Lasell College
7 27 Fighting Bison Andrew Krom Carthage College
7 28 Stoneflies Russell Riley Hendrix College
8 29 Fighting Bison Evan Burgett Clarkson University
8 30 Stoneflies Luke Nachazel Ursinus College
8 31 Bighorns Michael Fricke Bentley University
8 32 Gold Miners Walker Denton Nazareth College
9 33 Gold Miners Jake Hardy Canisius College
9 34 Fighting Bison Graeme Warner Centre College
9 35 Stoneflies Vitto Cancillia University of Indianapolis
9 36 Bighorns Lance Olson Emmanuel College